Categories
Microsoft

Windows Commands : Safeboot

Safe Mode:

bcdedit /set {default} safeboot minimal

Safe Mode with Networking:

bcdedit /set {default} safeboot network

Safe Mode with Command Prompt:

bcdedit /set {default} safeboot minimal
bcdedit /set {default} safebootalternateshell yes

To Remove either use msconfig to return to a normal boot or:

bcdedit /deletevalue {default} safeboot
Categories
Virtualization

eSXi update storage drivers

1. Power down all running VMs on host (or migrate to another eSXi host if using vCenter)

2. Enable SSH on the eSXi host

3. SSH to the host

4. Enter maintenance mode via:

esxcli system maintenanceMode set --enable true

5. Uninstall the previous storage driver via:

esxcli software vib remove -n scsi-hpvsa -f

6. Reboot the eSXi host via:

esxcli system shutdown reboot --reason "your reason here" 

7. When the eSXi host is back SSH back in and ensure Maintenance Mode is enabled through the same command in step 4.

8. SCP / SFTP copy the new storage driver to /tmp/ on the eSXi host

9. Install the new storage drive via:

esxcli software vib install -v file:/tmp/name-of-driver-file-here.vib --force --no-sig-check --maintenance-mode

10. Reboot

11. Disable SSH

12. Exit Maintenance Mode

13. Power on / migrate back VMs

Categories
Group Policy Microsoft

Group Policy Management – Outlook 2016 Policy GUI Bug

After a little puzzling with MS Outlook 2016 Synchronization settings GPO I thought I’d share this small bug in the GUI (at least for our environment 2k8r2 ADs):

 

If you’re editing Outlook 2016 cached exchange mode duration:

 

\User Configuration\Policies\Administrative Templates\Microsoft Outlook 2016\Account Settings\Exchange\Cached Exchange Mode\Cached Exchange Mode Sync Settings

 

Then switching the option to “All” and re-opening the policy in the GUI will display it reverting to “Three Days”, this is a bug!

 

My solution was simply changing the setting to “All” and not returning to the GUI control of the policy, if I then exited the policy and returned to the Group Policy Management GUI, inspecting the policy’s [Settings] I found the “All” setting was retained behind the scenes.